Locally Grown


Some Specials & Weekend Fun…
2010/05/09, 9:56 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

image

I am generally sort of known more for Vegetarian Cheffery, but in the real world I am not always able to talk my employers into running amazing veggie specials as much as I would like. In the not so rare moments where I am expected to “color inside the lines,” I get to have fun with whatever ball is tossed my way. This week I got to play with some locally raised Duroc Pork belly from Iowa Farm Families based in Marshalltown, IA and some less-than-24 hour out of the water Ahi Tuna from Waterfront in West Des Moines (Thank you, Morgan)

Seared Ahi Tuna over Saffron Cous Cous with a grilled vegetable salad of Asparagus, Zucchini, carrots, and eggplant (Credit to Chef Phil Shires, I only cut the fish). (The pictured special. Turns out I didn’t get a picture of the Pork! Whoops!)

Fennel Braised Duroc Pork Belly over Panzanilla (Italian Bread and Vegetable Salad) with house made Orange-Tarragon Marmalade. (This one was all me.)

Sold out of both, everyone was smiling.

A good time was had by all.

Cafe Di Scala
644 18th St. Des Moines, IA

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The pork belly was amazing Saturday! The panzanilla made me want to cry and I could down the marmalade by the gallon. Nice work!

Comment by alexson

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed the dish!

Comment by locallygrown

Panzanella.

Good heavens. Is Bathory napping on the job again?

Comment by La Bonne Femme

Hahaha! Yeah, he was under a bush watching a frog.

Comment by locallygrown

Where can one get good vegetarian food in this city!? It’s so frustrating to go to a ‘nice’ and/or well-liked restaurant and find that everything is cream-laden and even the salads have chicken on top

Comment by maria

WOW, this looks and sounds amazing and delicious… while I eat mostly veg, every now and then I can appreciate a fabulous pork belly, or a good piece of fish…

You would be successful in Portland.

Comment by spabettie




Leave a Reply

