Locally Grown


Dear Diary: Lunch
2010/11/18, 12:22 pm
Filed under: Personal | Tags: ,

Dear Diahree: Today I went on a long, long bicycle ride to blow off some steam and recharge the writing engine.  Steam Engine.  I was passing by the place which gave me my first job upon moving to Des Moines at about mile 40, and thought that lunch there later would be interesting.  After a few more miles, I turned back and headed for the place which gave me my first job upon moving to Des Moines. You know, Dieary, I often have read that when you are spinning your wheels and need to “get your groove back” that it is good to re-visit your roots.  This was some great advice.  The moment I walked in the door of the place which gave me my first job upon moving to Des Moines that familiar smell smacked me in the nostrils.  I was transported back 8 years in a matter of 8 seconds, and nothing had changed except the staff.  I kind of wish at least one of the old managers was still around to chat with, maybe have some “remember when I used to drink beer out of the to go cups while on the job” memory moments.  Those familiar tastes, smells, sights, sounds…all brought me close to tears.  I have forgotten how far I have come in the years since I worked at the place which gave me my first job upon moving to Des Moines and this was my problem all along.  I just couldn’t see the starting line through the trials of the race.

Never forget where you come from.

The Cook

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love this!

it is Most Definitely important to do this from time to time… I was recently questioning my leaving the clinic, and went to lunch with a doc. That was all it took to remember I made the correct decision. 😀

to me, songs and SMELLS are both huge in memory recall… I love that!

Comment by spabettie

I love the way a simple song or smell can transport you somewhere in the past or even cull up some tears. Very glad you relate, and that your situation led you to make the right decision for you. Oh, and see you in PDX sometime soon. I am trying to get out to your neck of the woods before the big conference.

Comment by locallygrown

Is there some reason you went way beyond the scope of sanity to avoid naming the place which gave you your first job upon moving to Des Moines?

🙂

Comment by WSCopic

Is there some reason you went way beyond the scope of sanity

Isn’t that what I do normally? Truthfully, the reason for leaving out the name of the location was to make the reader focus more on the subject matter, the feeling of the piece, and the closing line without the distraction of the fact that I was at Happy Joe’s on EP True PKWY.

Comment by locallygrown




Leave a Reply

