Locally Grown


Top 5 Lists, Like Virginia, Are For Lovers
2010/12/16, 8:59 am
Filed under: Local Food Commentary, restaurant reviews

As usual, I am bringing up the rear.  That sounds bad.  As usual, my blog will appear as a knee jerk reaction to other blogs/print publications due to my wavering productivity.  I have a year in review top ten top five lists, but I need to sit on this little egg for a while longer until it hatches.

EGG.

Here is a small reader’s poll whilst I get tomorrow’s postings ready:

What are YOUR top 5 picks for DMZ dining 2010?  These don’t have to be restaurants, they can be news items, controversies, trends (DO NOT say BBQ, plz), favorite personalities, etc.  Leave your picks in the comments section or email them to locallygrowndsm@gmail.com.  I would like to add a “reader’s choice” compilation to this tired trend of top whatever lists.  I mean, who’s opinion counts more in your local dining scene, YOUR opinion or the opinion of some food writing type?  I mean, YOU are the ones who make it happen, they are just a few people trying to steer you with opinion.

YOU ARE THE ONES WHO MAKE IT HAPPEN IN YOUR CITY, AND DON’T FORGET IT.

Others due. do.  Speaking of due, the Locally Grown List of Lists to end all Lists will be posting Monday, so try to get your lists in this weekend.

I can’t wait to see what you lovely readers have to say.  Then, of course you will be subjected to my opinion…  You know, the yooooosh.

Happy Listing!

The Cook

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Biggest trend in my opinion, and this has been on going for a while, is more and more GOOD locally owned dining options. Also, more and more of thse spots offer things that do not come off of a Sysco truck in premade, individually portioned patties/servings.

I also think Downtown weekday dining is experiencing a renaissance. Lots of new, exciting places and only one national chain that comes to mind (Jimmy John’s, which is awesome at 11pm after a long night at Carl’s Place, but otherwise pretty sucky).

Comment by InthewaterDSM

Very efficiently written information. It will be valuable to anybody who usess it, including me. Keep doing what you are doing – for sure i will check out more posts.

Comment by Barbecue




Leave a Reply

