Locally Grown


The New Best Banh Mi In The DMZ
2011/04/22, 5:52 am
Filed under: restaurant reviews | Tags: , , ,

Hello, tens.  I don’t usually review food, but I just had a sandwich so good that I had to stop what I was doing and write a post about it. 

I didn’t even get a picture of it, couldn’t put it down long enough! 

Vietnam Cafe is located inside the Merle Hay Mall, in the FOOD COURT, and serves up some great Pho in beef, chicken, pork, or even Vegetarian varieties.  They also have a small menu of noodle dishes, spring rolls, and chef specials.  All good. 

But the Banh Mi… perfect bread, perfect roasted pork, spicy mayo, pickled daikon and carrot, cilantro, and cucumber add up to the best sandwich I have eaten since Pho All Seasons closed down.  And it is a very traditionally priced $3. 

Tens, if you are a Banh Mi fan, you owe it to yourselves to visit this oddly placed hidden gem inside the Merle Hay Mall. 

The Cook

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dang, wish I’d seen this yesterday when I had the day off. 🙂

Have to swing in and check that out, it’s close to home for me.

Comment by InthewaterDSM

Very excited to hear this. I only had the chance to go to Pho All Season once before they closed and there food was great.

Comment by Jay

Also wish this had come out sooner, I was just there yesterday, saw the food court and turned around without giving it a thought, I had no idea there was good food to be had in those places

The Server

Comment by The Server

Chris! It’s been a long time! we should meet for lunch there sometime soon

Comment by locallygrown




Leave a Reply

