Locally Grown


The Truth Comes Out

My Dearest Tens,

This week’s newfound return to the LG blogisphere has yielded an interesting development: You aren’t nearly as interested in reading about Agriculture here as you are witnessing my tirades towards food critics, food bloggers, and dim-witted diners.  The numbers don’t lie, and lucky for you I have a forthcoming opportunity to write about sustainable dining on another furum, freeing the “LG Brand” up for more constant crappy commentary and policing of those in the dining community whom need policed.  To this end I thank you.  Coming back to this blog was not easy, and there was consideration given to tranforming into a voice for positive change in local, sustainable food.  This would have been a giant work load involving interviewing, research, and late nights making sure that every word is just just right, so as to most effectively pass the point of each post. 

Thank you for not making me do that here (I will let you whom want to read my writings on those subjects know where to read said articles once we get started).

Yesterday while I was sitting at one of my favorite wifi spots having a liquid lunch and writing about farmers, I spied the mighty (thin) Des Moines Register, home of our favorite critical Francophile.  You may recall that the LG posts of the prior two days dealt with the DD and her narrowly waving Magic Food Scene Judgement Wand passing um…judgement on the kitchens of Our Fair City and their inability to serve any desserts which aren’t cheesecake or “chocolate fall -down cake,”  which I took to mean that lovely “worn out” dessert the Chocolate Lava Cake. 

The front page of the Living section, or whatever it is called, has a feature on desserts…and what is dessert #2 of the feature?  CHOCOLATE LAVA CAKE FROM ALBA.  AND IT IS BEING CAST IN A FAVORABLE LIGHT.  Wait, what?  How can this be?  Have Jason and his team at Alba (who are all awesome, btw) somehow ressurected what was earlier in the week deemed one of the two most boring and tired desserts in all of MetroLand? 

And

on the third day the lava cake arose from its tired tomb to bring forth new light unto post-dining patrons.

.

.

OR has this other food writer started a war with the DD, and I remember the last time a register food writer crossed her.  This could get ugly…

More later.  My WP app is making this a very unpleasant experience.

Thank you again, tens, for showing me what you REALLY want to read about. 

The cook.

(Please excuse any formatting problems, WordPress of Android app can suck it.)

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It’s not that I didn’t want to reply about farming, the day just got away from me and (ahem) I had deleted your post. So here goes: I try to go out of my way to buy local fresh products and have seen an upsurge of availability in the last 5 years. I go to the Downtown Farmers market or the Ankeny FM every weekend in season. I buy my eggs locally all year long. And my neighbors think I’m nuts. And that’s ok too. I think I almost love farmers as you do.
Fight the good fight, Chef.

Comment by lizzy

I think part of it is that people enjoy a good, well written rant, and yours are always superb. Second, I think there’s a lot of frustration with perceived cronyism (I doubt I spelled that right!) with our esteemed reviewer and certain chefs in town. Meanwhile, other deserving restaurants get zero coverage while she bemoans the fact that no one wants to buy the dessert she likes at the same restaurant she always writes about. We turn to you for the real story!!

Comment by Bonnie




Leave a Reply

